Rainbow Pre-School Cranbrook

enquiries@rainbowcranbrook.org 01580 715 570

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

Rainbow Pre-School follows the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS) which has recently been updated. The EYFS Framework exists to support and monitor all professionals working in the Early Years sector, and explains how and what your child should be learning to support healthy development by the age of five.

Children should mostly develop the three primary areas first:

  1. Communication and language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, we will also encourage them to acquire skills in the remaining four areas outlined in the Framework:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive arts and design

At Rainbow, we use these seven areas to help us plan your child’s learning and activities, and will ensure they are suited to your child’s unique needs. The EYFS is similar to a curriculum but it is suitable for very young children and is designed to be flexible so staff can follow your child’s individual needs and interests. Children learn and develop these areas by playing and exploring, being active indoors and outdoors, and through creative and critical thinking.

Children who start their time at Rainbow before the age of three will also be informally assessed across the three prime areas in order to identify any potential development which may need specific attention or support. This is called the progress check at age two.